File System Hierarchy

  • The Filesystem Hierarchy Standard (FHS) defines the directory structure and directory contents in Linux distributions
  •  Filesystem Hierarchy Standard (FHS) file system structure, which defines the names, locations, and permissions for many file types and directories.
  • The latest version is 3.0, released on 3 June 2015

Linux File System Hierarchy

1 )  “/” (slash) :-
                  a) It is the parent directory of Linux under which all other directories are present.
2)  “/bin”:-
                  a) Contains all essential binaries which can use by host(root) as well as all other users.
                  b) It means it contains essential command binaries that are available in single user mode.
3)  “/sbin”:-
                 a) Contains all essential binaries which can use by only host (i.e. root).
                 b) It’s path is not present in PATH environment variable of other users.

4) “/dev” :-

                a) It contains all device drivers through which we can operate on using required tools.

5 ) “/etc” : –

                a)  It contains all configuration files of binaries.




Let's share knowledge

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *